Monday mornings are an excellent example of daily routines; that little moment in the day where your movements should do what you have programmed it to do without thinking; so you think. The problem with this mindset is that it doesn’t always work. You first must plan in advance what you are not going to think about in the morning. You didn’t know it takes a lot of work to make life simple.

For example, if you don’t place your towel strategically where you can reach it when you finish your shower the next morning, like you always do every morning, you will not be able to reach it. So you have to step out of the shower dripping wet, get cold, wet the floor to get your towel while hoping you don’t slip and have an accident.

Now you have more work to do. You have to mop the floor, or not. If you don’t, you’re going to worry if the next person, if you don’t live alone, will slip and have an accident. Now you have to warn everyone that the floor is wet and to watch it when they enter the bathroom. But you don’t because your morning mentality is to do as little as possible to get ready for work!

Moments like these are what really wake you up, not the shower, because it makes you start thinking, which is what you didn’t want to do in the first place. You would rather start thinking when you step out the front door when you face the (too sunny) world and its expectations, obligations, necessities and duties- geeeeez.

The area I personally need to work on is when to be aware where I park my car at the mall. If my life depends on it, I cannot remember where I parked my car when I step out from the mall or grocery store. I no longer think, “Dude, where’s my car?” but rather, “Not again!” So I spend minutes weaving between lanes looking for it, always conscious of those police-crane-booth-thingy with the mirrored windows looming overhead.

I act normal as people walk by, happy as larks, knowing where their car is parked. Worse is when I have friends accompany me. It’s so humiliating. I pray they don’t have a single idea where it is, too, so we can laugh about it. Sometimes I’m not fortunate.

In the end, we all have to do what is necessary to think less in the mornings.  A routine will do the trick. But if that doesn’t work, try a mug of strong Colombian coffee before you get out of bed and watch what you’re doing.

